The following is a brief description of how each of one of the Supervisors of the Gateway Services Community Development District got to their chair.

Seat 1: Margaret Fineberg

In the 2008 election, Dave Harley crushed Pete Doragh and Steve McDonnell. Harley resigned his position as a Supervisor on June 9, 2009. Under the Florida Statutes the remaining four board members at the time were permitted to hand-select the person to replace Harley as Supervisor. On June 18, 2009 Carol Stanley (a Supervisor at the time) nominated Fineberg because she got the highest number of votes of all the losing candidates in the 2008 election. Fineberg ran for Seat 3 that year and lost the election to Ed Sichel. The only other person to receive serious consideration for replacing Harley was Ed Tinkle. Tinkle had also lost in the 2008 election – to Gary Neubauer for Seat 2. The Supervisors at the time voted 3-1 for Fineberg to replace Harley. An interesting but hardly surprising fact: Ed Sichel (who defeated Fineberg) was the lone vote for Ed Tinkle, meanwhile Neubauer (who defeated Tinkle) voted for Fineberg.

In the 2012 election, Fineberg ran unopposed.

Her term ends in November 2016.

Seat 2: Gary Neubauer

In the 2008 election, Neubauer narrowly defeated Ed Tinkle, as well as defeating Vince Sardo, Joseph D’elia and Patti Yennish by a wide margin.

In the 2012 election, Neubauer ran unopposed.

His term ends in November 2016.

Seat 3: Pamela Gill

In the 2012 election, Pamela Gill ran against Joe Mikulka. Gill won by a wide margin.

Her term ends in November 2016.

Seat 4: William Guy

In the 2010 election, Guy soundly defeated Vince Sardo.

In the 2014 election, Guy ran unopposed.

His term ends in November 2018.

Seat 5: Rod Senior

In the 2014 election , Senior comfortably defeated Pete Doragh.

His term ends in November 2018.


Pete Doragh was the sitting Chairman of the Board of Supervisors at the time of the 2014 election. With his defeat by Rod Senior the Chairman position became vacant. At the December 4, 2014 GSCDD meeting Pamela Gill nominated Margaret Fineberg to become the new Chairman. Senior nominated William Guy, meaning it was left to Gary Neubauer to choose the next Chairman. Neubauer chose Guy, with the official result being that Guy won the nomination by a 3-2 vote.


After William Guy was nominated as Chairman, the attention turned to who would become Vice-Chairman. Pamela Gill nominated Margaret Fineberg, while Rod Senior nominated Gary Neubauer. This meant the decision was left up to William Guy to select the next Vice-Chairman. Guy selected Fineberg, with the official result being that Fineberg won the nomination by a 3-2 vote.

NOTE: No corrections have been made to this article. If there is anything factually incorrect in the piece, please email If a correction is made it will be noted here.

UPDATE (April 14, 2015):

A reader asked us on our Facebook page what the vote totals were. They were posted on Facebook and are being added to the article for reference.

Seat 1: Harley 2170 – McDonnell 944 – Doragh 650
Seat 2: Neubauer 1359 – Tinkle 1221 – Sardo 973 – Yenish 352 – D’Elia 341
Seat 3: Sichel 1561 – Fineberg 1448 – Frost 722 – Sendewicz 372

Seat 4: Guy 1904 – Sardo 1013
Seat 5: Doragh 1410 – Lethem 1282

Seat 1: Harley had resigned in 2009 and Board selected Fineberg. Unopposed.
Seat 2: Neubauer unopposed.
Seat 3: Gill 2340 – Mikulka 1457

Seat 4: Guy unopposed
Seat 5: Senior 1912 – Doragh 1446

Editor of the Gateway Sun and owner of restaurant delivery service Florida Food Runner.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)